Number of Ryukyu Islands

, , Leave a comment

How many Ryukyu Islands are there?

over 100

Not too many people know that the Ryukyu Islands are also known in Japanese as the Nansei Islands (“Southwest Islands”) or as the Ryukyu Arc.  These islands represent are a chain of volcanic Japanese islands that stretch southwest from Kyushu to Taiwan.  Their area is of 4642.11 km2 .  There are over 100 islands.  Keep in mind that the major islands are Okinawa and Amami.  It is interesting to know that these islands are said to be about 5 to 1.7millions years old.  Moreover, they became separated from the Asian continent when the sea levels rose.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply