Number of wrathful deities

, , Leave a comment

How many wrathful deities are there?


In Sanskrit, the wrathful deities are known as dharmapalas, which means “defender of the dharma”.  There are 8 wrathful deities.  It is interesting to know that these eight wrathful deities can be worshipped as a group of “Eight Terrible Ones”.  The wrathful deities are represented by Lha-mo, Tshangs-pa Dkar-po, Beg-tse, Yama, Kubera, or Vaisravana, Mahakala, Hayagriva and Yamantaka.  Keep in mind that worship of the wrathful deities was initiated in the 8th century by the magician-saint Padmasambhava.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply