Number of FSMO roles

, , Leave a comment

How many FSMO roles are there?


Not too many people know that Flexible Single Master Operations, also named single master operation or operations master, is a feature of Microsoft’s Active Directory.  There are 5 FSMO roles:  1. Domain Naming Master —ForestWide Roles; 2. Schema Master —ForestWide Roles;3. RID Master (Relative ID Master) — Domain Wide Roles;4. PDC Emulator — Domain Wide Roles;5. Infrastructure Master — Domain Wide Roles.  Not too many persons know that FSMO is a specialized domain controller (DC) set of tasks.  They are used where standard data transfer and update methods prove to be inadequate.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply