Number of Jewish Laws

, , Leave a comment

How many Jewish laws are there?


Jewish religion has 613 mitzvot (commandments) proclaimed in the Torah. There are two types of commandments: positive (what must be done) and negative (what must be avoided). The latter, known as mitzvot lo taaseh, constitutes the majority of mitzvot (365 commandments ‘“ one for each day of the year), whereas positive, or mitzvot aseh, comprises 248 commandments ‘“ the number of bones and organs of the human body.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply