Number of European Union Members

, , Leave a comment

How many European Union members are there?


There are 27 sovereign member-states of the European Union. These 27 members consist of 20 republics, 6 kingdoms and one grand duchy. The earliest precursor of the E.U., the European Coal and Steel Community, had only 6 member-states in 1951.  The 2 latest members, Bulgaria and Romania, acceded to the E.U. in January 2007.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply