Number of Necrotizing Fasciitis

, , Leave a comment

How many Necrotizing Fasciitis are there?

2 types

Not too many people know that necrotizing fasciitis (NF), commonly known as flesh-eating disease or flesh-eating bacteria syndrome, is a rare infection of the deeper layers of skin and subcutaneous tissues.   It is important to know the fact that many types of bacteria can cause necrotizing fasciitis: Group A streptococcus (Streptococcus pyogenes), Staphylococcus aureus, Clostridium perfringens, Bacteroides fragilis, Aeromonas hydrophila.  The main idea is that there are 2 types of NF:  Type I (polymicrobial, due to a number of different organisms) or Type II (monomicrobial, due to a single infecting organism).


Leave a Reply