What is WRC?

, , Leave a comment

What is WRC?

The WRC or World Rally Championship is a series of rally racing sanctioned and organized by the International Federation of Automobiles (FIA in French). When we speak of rally racing or rallying, it simply means that it involves racing between modified vehicles on common public and private roads. In contrast, the other form of automobile racing is held in circuits and specially-made tracks.

The first season of the WRC was held back in 1973 and was created from various other international rallying championships that were held before it. One of these international rallies that preceded the WRC is the IMC or the International Championship for Manufacturers which was held a few years back (1970 up to 1972). It was in Monte Carlo that the first season of WRC was held with the team from Alpine-Renault winning the first ever manufacturer’s world championship.

The WRC actually involves two championships, one for the driver and another for the car manufacturer. But both these championships are based on a similar point system with the driver and manufacturer garnering the most points at the end of a particular season winning the championship. The latest season of the WRC involves 13 stages which are held in 13 different countries. Each of these stages usually takes three or four days to complete. Each stage is also divided into 15-25 mini or special stages wherein competing cars race against time. These special stages are held on closed roads which may be of different surfaces like sand, gravel, snow, or smooth asphalt. The competing team also has two members with one being the main driver and the other performing the function of the road navigator. The navigator is the one responsible for giving tips to the main driver on the possible road conditions ahead of the track. In many instances, the navigator also serves as a co-driver to complete a WRC team.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply