What is NQF?

, , Leave a comment

What is NQF?
The NQF or National Qualifications Framework is a system of valuing credits earned by a person in school with the purpose of aligning these credits to other qualification systems in the UK, particularly in England, Northern Ireland, and Wales. In these areas there are already various qualifications and standards that measure the academic achievement and performance of a particular person. The NQF is structured using 9 different levels that correspond to certain qualifications and standards. In this way, one will be able to compare the equivalent of a particular qualification to a NQF level. Because of this framework, job employers will be able to compare between various qualifications using the different levels under the NQF.

The framework under the NQF is composed of 9 different levels corresponding to different groups of qualification standards. Included in the framework are secondary, vocational, higher, and further education levels. It is important to note though that academic degrees do not form part of this framework but is aligned with another type of qualification (the FHEQ) for comparison purposes.

The first level under NQF is referred to as the Entry Level which is also equivalent to a BTEC Level 1 certificate. Level 1 under NQF corresponds to basic skills and knowledge acquired from day to day activities. Level 2 involves performance of tasks with minimal supervision. Level 3 corresponds to skills and tasks that are performed independently. This NQF level is also equivalent to a Level 3 NVQ and Level 3 ICCS. Level 4 refers to skills for technical and professional jobs with some management duties. FHEQ or Framework for Higher Education Qualifications equivalent to this level is a Certificate of Higher Education. Level 5 is the intermediate level on FHEQ. Level 6 pertains to the Honor’s bracket while Level 7 and 8 is equivalent to the Master’s and Doctorate levels under the FHEQ.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply