What is ITIL?

, , 1 Comment

What is ITIL?
ITIL is an acronym used for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL is a string of references (books and courses), which summarizes top procedures for IT (information technology) management.  Over a thousand of organizations situated from different parts of the world utilize the ITIL. As a result, ITIL has been an excellent reference used by departments involved in IT. Particularly, managers, directors, and IT service providers have gained advantage in the use of ITIL.

ITIL offers a map known as service life cycle that shows how IT operates and how it forms a relationship to huge businesses and how it can be potentially developed. The United Kingdom’s Office of Government Commerce (OGC) owns ITIL as its registered trademark. Some other countries also utilize the trademark.
ITIL stresses out that IT management have five core aspects.

  • Strategy
  • Design
  • Transition
  • Operation
  • Continual Improvement

The five aspects mentioned above deal with the various functions of an IT unit. The five aspects start from the origin going to operation and up to the maintenance. The main purpose of ITIL is to develop an improved quality of IT service in relation to business. In other words, the program intends to create an incorporated IT service and business relationships. What makes ITIL successful in helping IT managers, is its detailed and complete depictions, checklists, and courses of action that are considered customizable to provide for a specific IT organization’s needs.

In the United Kingdom, 31 volumes of ITIL were initially published between the years 1985 to 1995. ITIL was specially made and held by UK’s Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA). CCTA was later on replaced by an office of ‘Her Majesty’s Treasury’ called OGC. The initial release of ITIL was restricted by and large to Netherlands and United Kingdom.  However, due to its impartiality from commercial concerns, ITIL has gained global recognition.

Years later, to make the system more user-friendly, it was revised. The 31 volumes were compressed into just seven books and released between the years 2000 to 2004. Three years later (2007), version 3 came out as another revision. The revision was further compressed resulting into just 5 volumes. The 5-book series involves the basic aspects of IT. Matching topics were supplemented by both print and web publications. Starting on the same year (2007), the APM Group was contracted by OCG to handle instruction and certification of ITIL.

ITIL courses being offered permits practitioners of IT to gain knowledge of the finest practice techniques from approved institutions. Course takers such as IT managers can attain various levels of qualification or certification. However, certification achieved will be dependent on a great deal of ITIL course covered. There are three key levels offered by the course:

  • Introductory course ‘“ fundamental program outline
  • Intermediate course ‘“ focusing on the concepts of key life cycle
  • Expert level course ‘“ covering the supplemental materials and the five core books

ITIL has been a great tool for bringing the development of IT services in the business sectors. Moreover, the system has made it less difficult for IT service personnel to create an integration between IT and business relations.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

One Response

Leave a Reply