What is AQF?

, , Leave a comment

The AQF or the Australian Qualifications Framework is Australia’s national policy in terms of educational attainment and qualifications.  Through the AQF, various educational qualifications in Australia are divided into 10 different levels with each level pertaining to one’s educational attainment, level of experience, intelligence and training.  The Australian Qualifications Framework is being handled by the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations.  In Australia, getting an AQF level qualification is very important because these qualifications form as basis for entry into tertiary-level education and for more employment opportunities.  In most cases, various organizations and educational institutions require their applicants to have AQF level qualifications.

The AQF was first used back in 1995 and formed the basis of standardized qualifications of training and education across Australia.  Getting an AQF qualification is applicable for all educational training in Australia’s schools including vocational institutions, training centers, and higher education providers.  The qualifications administered by the Australian Qualifications Framework start with Level 1 in which Certificate 1 is given for those who demonstrate skills and expertise in initial work and community involvement.  Training and education for this level typically lasts for 6 months up to 1 year.  The mid-Level 5 provides a Diploma for graduates who have earned some skills for professional work.  One level higher is referred to as the Advanced Diploma or the Associate Degree and this is equivalent to having advanced skills in professional work. Bachelor’s degree holders will gain Level 7 qualification.  A typical bachelor’s degree course in Australia may be completed in about 3 or 4 years.  One qualification higher and graduates will earn the so-called Graduate’s Diploma or Certificate. This qualification level is also referred to as the Bachelor’s degree level with honors.  Level 9 meanwhile is for those who have completed Master’s degrees while Level 10 qualification is awarded to graduates of Doctoral degrees which typically lasts for an additional 3 or 4 years.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply