The Difference Between FireRed and LeafGreen

, , Leave a comment

Pokemon FireRed and LeafGreen is a pair of core series Generation III video games. They are basically a remake of the original Pokemon Red and Green series, with a few upgrades.

The previous generation are as follows:

Generation I Red & Green, Blue (Japan), Red & Blue, Yellow
Generation II Gold & Silver, Crystal
Generation III Ruby and Sapphire, FireRed & LeafGreen, Emerald


The games are set in the Kanto region of Japan. The player starts in Pallet Town. She/he meets with Professor Oak, who gives the player a choice of one of four Pokemon to pick as a starter Pokemon. Both versions of the game have 15 parts in the main story line. The player proceeds along routes 1 to 23 and ends at the Indigo Plateau.

Parts 16 to 18 form the post- game section. Part 16 had the player visiting Four Island and Six Island. Part 17 features Five Island and Seven Island. The last part takes the player to the Cerulean Cave.

The Generation III versions Pokemon FireRed and Pokemon LeafGreen were released in Japan on Jan 29, 2004, in North America on September 9, 20004, in Australia on September 23, 0224 and on October 1, 2004 in Europe.

These two versions have many features that were not present in earlier versions. They include the following:

  • There are new islands, puzzles, Pokemon and people.
  • When you press Continue, you get a recap of previous actions.
  • Animations appear at certain points in the game
  • The Pokedex has been completely re done. They can be listed in standard and national mode.
  • Lists are based on type, alphabet, size, weight and category of the Pokemon.
  • Pokemon belong to specific categories like forest, cave, field etc.
  • Pokemon are also organized on pages and can be viewed 4 a page by scrolling down.
  • Pokemon can also be viewed individually in the Pokedex.
  • A wireless adaptor comes with the game.
  • Deoxys can be caught with a ticket got from outside the game.
  • You cannot evolve a Pokemon that was not in the original list of 150, until you get the National Dex
  • The games are harder than the previous ones, with smarter computers guiding the Trainers.
  • There is a Deoxys exclusive the each series that cannot be traded to other series. If the Deoxys exclusive to FireRed is traded to LeafGreen it changes form.

The Generation III versions FireRed and LeafGreen differ from earlier versions. But there is very little difference between the two. Both FireRed and LeafGreen are essentially the same. The Introduction to FireRed has Charizard in a detailed red background with some embers lying around. The LeafGreen introduction has Venasaur in a green background with leaves going across horizontally.

Some Pokemon are exclusive to FireRed and some to LeafGreen. They cannot be obtained the alternate version, but have to be trades.

The Deoxys exclusive to FireRed is in Attack Forme and the Deoxys in LeafGreen is in Defense Forme.

Examples of exclusive Pokemon that can be traded are as follows

CATEGORY FireRed LeafGreen
Fire Growlithe Fire
Fire Arcanine Ninetails
Water Shelder Staryu
Grass/Poison Oddish Bellsprout
Grass/Poison Gloom Weepinbell

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply