Number of Swiss cantons

, , Leave a comment

How many Swiss cantons are there?


Not too many people know that there are 26 Swiss cantons.  They are member states of the federal state of Switzerland.  Not too many people know that each canton was a fully sovereign state with its own border controls, army and currency.  Moreover, the most recently created canton is the Canton of Jura, which was separated from the Canton of Benin.  Where does the term canton come from?  It comes from the French word canton, which means corner or district.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply