Number of planets in Solar System

, , Leave a comment

How many planets are there in the Solar System?


There are many controversies when it comes to the total number of planets in the Solar System.  Most of the people know that there are 9 planets in the Solar System: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.   In 2005, Mike Brown discovered Eris, an icy object thought to be about the same size as Pluto, out beyond its orbit.  It is widely known the fact that the Solar System consists of the Sun and the objects that orbit it.  Needless to say, the Solar System formed 4.6 billion years ago from the gravitational collapse of a giant molecular cloud.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply