Number of phases in meiosis

, , Leave a comment

How many phases are there in meiosis?


Not too many people know the fact that meiosis is a special type of cell division necessary for sexual reproduction in eukaryotes, such as animals, plants and fungi.  Meiotic division occurs in two stages, meiosis I and meiosis II.  The main idea is that the cells are divided once at each stage. Keep in mind the fact that the first stage of meiosis begins with a cell that has two copies of each type of chromosome, one from each of the mother and father, called homologous chromosomes.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply