Number of Mayan languages

, , Leave a comment

How many Mayan languages are there?

29 languages recognized

It is important to know the fact that the Mayan languages form a language family spoken in Mesoamerica and northern Central America.  Believe it or not, Mayan languages are spoken by at least 6 million indigenous Maya.  They live in Guatemala, Mexico, Belize and Honduras.  Not too many people know the fact that in 1996, Guatemala formally recognized 21 Mayan languages by name.  Needless to say, Mexico recognized eight more.  It is interesting to know the fact that Mayan languages have 6 subdivisions: Huastecan, Yucatecan, Ch’olan, Q’anjobalan, Mamean and Quichean.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply