Number of Jupiter’s moons

, , Leave a comment

How many Jupiter’s moons are there?


It is interesting to know the fact that Jupiter has at least 63 known moons.   Keep in mind that the largest four moons are called Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto.  Not too many people know that the four moons are called the Galilean satellites because they were first seen in 1610 by the astronomer Galileo Galilei.  Needless to say, Ganymede is the largest moon in the Solar System.  Believe it or not, it has a diameter of 3,260 miles.  Furthermore, Io has a lot of active volcanoes and is covered with sulfur.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply