Number of HVDC lines in India

, , Leave a comment

How many HVDC lines are there in India?

Not too many people know that there are 9 HVDC lines in India.  Here are some of them: Vindhyachal, Chandrapur, Sasaram, Vizag, Rihand-Dadri, Chandrapur-Padghe, Sileru-Barsoor, Biswanath, Chariyali-Agra, Talcher-Kolar.  It is widely known the fact that a high-voltage, direct current (HVDC) electric power transmission system uses direct current for the bulk transmission of electrical power, in contrast with the more common alternating current (AC) systems.  Specialists consider that for long-distance transmission, HVDC systems may be less expensive and suffer lower electrical losses.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply