Number of Dwarf Planets

, , Leave a comment

How many dwarf planets are there?


There are 5 dwarf planets officially recognized by the International Astronomical Union (IAU). These are Pluto, Ceres, Eris, Makemake, and Haumea. In 2006 IAU approved the new classification scheme of a dwarf planet, and defined it as ‘Å“a celestial body that (a) is in orbit around the Sun, (b) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape, (c) has not cleared the neighbourhood around its orbit, and (d) is not a satellite.’

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply