Number of counties in US

, , Leave a comment

How many counties are there in the US?


It is important to understand the fact that in the United States of America, a county is a political and geographic subdivision of a state, which has assigned some governmental authority.  It is interesting to know the fact that the term “county” is used in 48 of the 50 U.S. states.  Keep in mind that the exceptions are Louisiana and Alaska.  Statistics show that as of 2013, the United States has 3,007 counties and 137 county equivalents for a total of 3,144 counties.  Believe it or not, the number of counties per state ranges from the 3 counties in Delaware to the 254 counties in Texas.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply