Number of Branches in the Federal Government

, , Leave a comment

How many branches are there in the federal government?


The United States federal government has three branches. The Executive branch is made up of the President, the Vice President, the Cabinet, and other executive offices and agencies, with the highest executive power being granted to the President. The legislative branch is embodied by the U.S. Congress, whose main responsibility is the passage of legislation. The judicial branch is embodied by the U.S. justice system and judicial courts led by the Supreme Court. These branches operate with separate distinct powers while providing a system of checks and balances in governance.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply