Number of African Countries

, , 1 Comment

How many countries are there in Africa?


The United Nations Statistics Division lists 57 countries and territories in Africa. The African continent is further divided into 5 regions, namely East Africa (19 countries), Middle Africa (9 countries), North Africa (7), South Africa (5) and West Africa (17).  Africa is the second largest and most populated continent after Asia.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

One Response

  1. Austin

    January 12, 2014 3:49 pm

    I’m not sure this is wrong, but seeing as how it was last verified in 2010 it probably needs to be updated as it would not include things like the Sudan/South Sudan breakup.


Leave a Reply