How many MLA’s does the state of Karnataka (India) have?

, , Leave a comment


Karnataka is a state of South India and the legislature of this state comprises of two houses. One is the Vidhana Sabha( lower house) and the second one is the Vidhana Parishad ( upper house).

Karnataka has 225 constituencies. Each constituency elects one member known as the MLA. The elections are conducted by the Election Commission of India.

224 members of the Vidhana Sabha are elected by the people (adult franchise). One member is nominated by the Governor of Karnataka and he represents the Anglo Indian Community. Members of the Vidhana Parishad are elected by members of local bodies, teachers and graduates.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply