Facts about KZN

, , 1 Comment

KZN or KwaZulu-Natal is a province located in South Africa that was formed by the merging of Zulu Bantustan and Natal Province in the year 1994.

Some interesting facts about KZN are given below:

  • KwaZulu-Natal has a mixed population of 10.2 million people comprising of people from different kinds of cultural backgrounds.

  • South Africa itself has 11 official languages while in KZN people are found to widely converse in English and Zulu.

  • The currency used at KwaZulu-Natal is Rand as it is in South Africa.

  • A warm sub-tropical weather predominatethe climate of KwaZulu-Natal. It has hot and humid summers and winters are cool and dry making it more pleasant. Temperatures during summers can go up to 35 degree Celsius.

  • Portuguese explorer Vasco Da Gama arrived at KwaZulu-Natal in the year 1497 at Durban. He had arrived on 25th December the day of Christmas and ‘Natal’ in Portuguese refers to the Christmas holiday. KZN is said to have derived its name from this word.

  • KwaZulu-Natal’s economy is supported primarily by agriculture and crops grown widely include sugar-cane plantations, corn, citrus fruits, bananas, cotton, sorghum and pineapples.

  • Industries of KwaZulu-Natal primarily include those engaged in the processing of agricultural produce and are located in the capital city of Durban. Other than sugar cane refineries, the city also has industries of textile and clothing, fertilisers, rubber and other food processing units.

  • The Sugar mill industry and its farms in KwaZulu-Natal is said to provide employment to over 350,000 people in Africa.

  • KwaZulu-Natal is also known to produce considerable amounts of coal, timber and tea for the purpose of export.

  • Bantu and Zulu speaking people inhabited major part of present day KwaZulu-Natalbefore early 19th century after which the British colonisers arrived, occupying most of Natal land from the Zulu chiefs Shaka and Dingane.

  • From the various isolated enclaves within Natal, the government established what was known as Zulu homeland or Bantustan. This was done in 1970s by the then South African Apartheid government. Zululand was permitted partial self-governance in 1977.

  • Gateway in Umhlanga Ridge located in KwaZulu-Natal is South Africa’s largest shopping mall. It has a skate park, a theme park, 18 movie theatres, one IMAX theatre and a Barnyard playhouse and over 60 restaurants.

  • Valley of a Thousand Hills is a table mountain which is a natural landscape feature of KwaZulu-Natal and is 960 metres high. People of KZN in Zulu call it the “emKhambathini” which literally means Place of the Giraffe Acacia Trees.

  • The two main ports of KwaZulu-Natal are Durban and Richards Bay. Durban also happens to be one of the busiest ports of South Africa. The Richards Bay Harbour was built in 1976 with the intention of exporting coal through this port. A railway connects Johannesburg to the port and it continues to export majority of South African coal from here.

Drakensberg Mountains and St. Lucia Wetlands Park are two World Heritage Sites located in KwaZulu-Natal. The Drakensberg Mountains span over 200 kms across Southern Africa, the majority portion occupying KwaZulu-Natal. In Zulu the mountains are named “uKhahlamba”.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

One Response

Leave a Reply