Facts about GCSE

, , Leave a comment

GCSE is a system for assessing the ability of a student in order to provide him/her with a proper career route depending upon his IQ level and academic achievements. Though under many harsh criticisms, this system has sustained its existence through all these years and now it is the world’s most recognized academic assessment criteria. There are certain facts that one must know about the GCSE system of assessment.

Fact 1:

GCSE is an academic grading criteria and it holds a total of 8 grades. These are A*, A, B C, D, E, F and G. (The Parent Point)

Fact 2:

GCSEs are calculated by a mixture of coursework and exams and the grades have to be specific in order to opt for a better career! (The Parent Point)

Fact 3:

There are almost 50 different subjects offered in GCSE courses to choose from.  (Politics.co)

Fact 4:

GCSE was originally introduced back in 1986, as a replacement for the previous O levels and CSE systems by merging both of these together. (Politics.co)

Fact 5:

Just like all the other academic systems, GCSE is not safe from the disapproval of critics, but the system has managed to stick around even still. (Politics.co)

Fact 6:

A major criticism that the GCSE is facing nowadays is that this system of assessment is increasing the gap between rich and poor students, as the GCSE education is more expensive than the ordinary school system. (Full Fact)

Fact 7:

Despite being a complicated system, GCSE succeeds in attaining a more than 95% passing percentage every year, which is a very positive upwards progress of the system. (BBC News)

Fact 8:

Some recent surveys reveal that many students choose non-academic subjects to pass the GCSE exam and girls normally outwork boys in the passing percentage achievement. (BBC News)

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply