Astronomical Proportions: Ten Stellar Facts About The Zodiac Signs!

, , Leave a comment

Zodiac_woodcutAmidst celestial bodies and divine constellations, hippie dreams and cosmic affairs, beasts of astronomical proportions are bursting with color and brimming with life. These celestial bodies have been revered and worshiped by gods and men alike since time immemorial. The zodiac is a yearly cycle of the 12 different constellations that are divided into 12 zones of the sun’s path across the heavens. Each sign of the zodiac has corresponding personality traits denoted by the signs. They are as follows: Aries; the first of the zodiac signs and the ram (March 21- April 20), Taurus; the bull (April 21- May 21), Gemini; the twins (May 22- June 21), Cancer; the crab (June 22- July 22), Leo; the lion (July 23- August 21), Virgo; the virgin (August 22- September 23), Libra; the scales (September 24- October 23), Scorpio; the scorpion (October 24- November 22), Sagittarius; the archer (November 23- December 22), Capricorn; the goat (December 23- January 20), Aquarius; the water bearer (January 21- February 19), and finally Pisces; the fish (February 20- March 20).

The elements are also incorporated into the zodiac signs, lending their own touch of distinguishability and prowess to the mix. The signs each have their own affinity to these elements. Those belonging to the Fire element include Aries, Sagittarius and Leo. For Water we have Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. The Air sign is led by Libra, Aquarius and Gemini, while the Earth sign belongs to Capricorn, Taurus and Virgo. These quadrants also depict personality, traits, and relationships with the other signs. Thus, belonging to the same element is equivalent to harmonious compatibility. Those belonging to Fire are bursting with life and are fiercely passionate. Those under the Water signs are warm and sensitive. Those belonging to the Air sign are detached and cool. As for the Earth sign, these people are known to be sensual and engaging. The Chinese have their zodiac counterpart as well, following a more cyclical lunar calendar than that of the west. It is believed that the animals that represent your birth year reflect your own attributes and characteristics.

Ancient myths tell the tale of a great race that was held in imperial China, and the animals of the Chinese zodiac and their respective birth years are also in sequence with the position they had in the race. They are as follows: The Wise Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, and 1960. The Industrious Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961. The Valiant Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962. The Cautious Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963. The Strong Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964. The Flexible Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965. The Energetic Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966. The Dependable Goat: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967.
The Mischievous Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968. The Persistent Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969. The Loyal Dog: 2018, 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970. And lastly, The Amiable Pig: 2019, 2007, 1995, 1983, and 1971.

Time for the stellar facts! Did you know:

Fact 1: The term zodiac derives from the Latin word zōdiacus, meaning circle of animals.

Fact 2: Taurus is the most stubborn out of all the signs, hence, “as stubborn as a bull!”

Fact 3: In mythology, Scorpio was the scorpion that attacked and killed the hunter Orion.

Fact 4: Pisces represents Venus, the Roman goddess of love and beauty, and her son Cupid. To escape from a monster, they turned into fish and jumped into a river.

Fact 5: There is a Japanese Manga called “Fruits Basket” that tells the story about an all-male clan cursed by the spirits of the animals in the zodiac. Whenever they’re stressed or come into contact with the opposite sex, they turn into their zodiac animal.

Fact 6: In Greek mythology, Aries was a winged ram with golden wool. His hide became the much-desired Golden Fleece.

Fact 7: Libra is the symbol of balance. This constellation appears at the time of the autumnal equinox, when days and nights are equal.

Fact 8: In many cultures, Capricorn has the head of a goat and the tail of a fish. The goat, an expert climber, represents the sun’s climb from its lowest position in the sky. After December 22, the shortest day, the sun’s time in the sky increases daily.

Fact 9: Each Zodiac sign is ruled by a planet.

Fact 10: Females who are born under the cancer sign are said to be the best lovers.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply