Number of time zones in China

, , Leave a comment

How many time zones are there in China?


Not too many people know the fact that time in China follows a single standard time of UTC+08:00, which is 8 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time.  It is interesting to know the fact that there were five time zones in use during the Republic of China (1912–1949).  The main idea is that the country was divided into five time zones, namely GMT+5.5, GMT+6, GMT+7, GMT+8 and GMT+8.5.  Needless to say, UTC+06:00 is also used unofficially in Xinjiang and Tibet.


Leave a Reply