Number of tarsal bones

, , Leave a comment

How many tarsal bones are there?


It is important to know that the bones of the foot can be grouped into three categories: tarsals, metatarsals and phalanges.  Tarsals represent the most proximal set of bones. There are seven tarsals.  When it comes to metatarsals, you should know that there are five bones (one for each digit), they connect the phalanges to the tarsals.  Moreover, phalanges represent the bones of the digits.  Keep in mind that tarsal bones can be subcategorized into three further groups; proximal, intermediate and distal.


Leave a Reply