Number of punctuation marks

, , Leave a comment

How many punctuation marks are there?


It is widely known the fact that there are 14 punctuation marks in the English grammar.  Here are the 14 punctuation marks: the period, question mark, exclamation point, comma, semicolon, colon, dash, hyphen, parentheses, brackets, braces, apostrophe, quotation marks, and ellipses.   Keep in mind that  punctuation marks are symbols that indicate the structure and organization of written language, as well as intonation and pauses to be observed when reading aloud.  Needless to say, the rules of punctuation vary with language, location, register and time and are constantly evolving.


Leave a Reply