Number of counties in California

, , Leave a comment

How many counties are there in California?


California has a rich and interesting history.  Not too many people know the fact that the state of California is divided into 58 counties.  Statistics show that twenty-seven existed when the region was first carved into counties on February 18, 1850.  Needless to say, 16 more were added by 1860, and four more by 1865.  Moreover, another ten were added by the turn of the century.  It is interesting to know that the last, Imperial County, was formed in 1907.

Tea Time Quiz

[forminator_poll id="23176"]

Leave a Reply