Number of Asian languages

, , Leave a comment

How many Asian languages are there?

13 language groups

It is important to know that there is a wide variety of languages spoken throughout Asia, comprising a number of families and some unrelated isolates.  There are 13 language groups in Asia:  Sino-Tibetan, Indo-European, Altaic families, Mon–Khmer, Tai–Kadai, Austronesian, Dravidian, Semitic, Siberian families, Caucasian families, Small families of southern Asia, Creoles and pidgins, Sign languages.  Most of the Asian languages have a long tradition of writing.  Keep in mind that the major families in terms of numbers are Indo-European in South Asia and Sino-Tibetan in East Asia.


Leave a Reply